Pin of the Day: Menu Boards!

The Rainy Day Box is back! I took a week for Easter (success!) and our family’s annual golf tournament (success!) and now feel like I am back to normal. I have meant to blog about this great “pin-spired” idea for a while now: homemade menu boards! They really are the perfect rainy day craft. They are simple, easy to personalize, and SO useful!

My menu board was the first craft I made after joining Pinterest. I love it and it has really changed how we eat! Planning our menu out helps with grocery shopping and helps us avoid the 6 o’clock “what do you want to eat?” “I don’t know, what do you want to eat?” discussion that always ends in takeout. Here is my menu board on Easter Sunday:

All you really need to make one like mine is a picture frame, scrapbook paper, and a dry erase marker. You can also go the dry erase on decorative plate route, the chalkboard route (especially now that I know chalkboard contact paper exists), the magnetic chalkboard route, or the clothes pin route. (I like to be able to write whatever I want without the extra step of printing something up).

I used stickers for the “MENU” title on my board, but you could also print it on the scrapbook paper or paint it on the glass or on the frame itself. I also put mine in an easel because the frame I used didn’t have a stand attached to the back.

One tip I have for the scrapbook paper is that if the pattern is very bold you can get a piece of vellum paper to kind of dull the visual effect of the pattern. My paper was very bold and it was difficult to see the writing until I put that vellum paper on top – then it was just right.

Here are some of my favorite menu boards from Pinterest! Some of them landed on my Handmade Hodgepodge Board.

from Little Birdie Secrets

From Style Me Pretty

From The Complete Guide to Imperfect Homemaking

From The House of Smiths

From Once Upon a Chocolate Chip Pancake

From All Things Beautiful

Which style will you make?

Pinterest strikes again!

Cheers,

Caroline

One response to “Pin of the Day: Menu Boards!

  1. changa

    Very cool idea.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 108 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 50,139 peeks

Menu